Is Google off Target?

google-mapsI just moved. And anyone knows that when you move all of the sudden there is a huge need to buy little housewares, like garbage cans, kleenex, bath mats, etc. I was given the unenviable task of buying these things, and as a male of the human species I wanted to find all of it in one location. So, I Googled “Target Seattle“. Sure enough, several locations popped up in Google Maps. I copied down the direction to the nearest one (7 miles away) and headed off.

Just one problem.

When I got to the location, there was no Target there. In fact, they’d moved some time ago. Not cool.

The same thing happened when I tried to find the closest Payless Shoes (yes, I am cheap, Sherlock). Google directed me to a location where Payless no longer exists.

So how many more times does Google have to be wrong before I stop trusting its results? Has this happened to anyone else out there?

2 Responses

  1. Last April Jody and I went to google to find an outlet centre in Vermont. As we were driving from Montreal and just away for the day we didn’t want to stray too far.
    And, yes, you guessed it – the outlet centre with great stores had been closed for 5 years!!!
    So, I say, remove yourself from the websites if you no longer exist!!!!

  2. Thanks Bob – that’s just it though, when does Google actually register when businesses leave a location? Can you notify Google so they can make the change quicker? In any event, it represents lost business for companies that move locations. When the Target wasn’t there, it was easier to go across the street to Wal-Mart instead of venturing across town to another Target.

Leave a Reply

